Posted by: gargupie | May 3, 2010

Making your own sprouts

Now that the weather is finally warming up (woohoo!)  my appetite is crying for something less hearty and gut-sticking (so long stew and chili).  Salads are always my go-to option when I have to make a lunch choice.  Yes, sometimes they can be boring with the typical mixed greens, sliced tomatoes (now is not tomato season too), cucumber, shredded carrots…so yes, not much crunch factor, which I like to emphasize in my meals.  And what about my source of protein? Got to satiate my roaring tummy with something substantial as well.  Luckily, my digestive system can tolerate beans, so they are my usual suspects in my salads. 

Recently, I have learned of the nutrition benefits of sprouting your own beans and seeds and I am loving it! It is quite simple and low maintenance.  I ordered the organic beans online, receive the package, follow the direction and just use a simple mason jar to grow my sprouts. Nothing fancy. Nothing elaborate. 

You can also buy the edible sprouts in health stores, but they are quite expensive (around $2-$4 for 6 ounces), so I do save a lot by starting my own little ‘garden’.  But if you really do not have the patience or time to go through the process, do try them out when you see them on the menu or at your local health stores.

A great vegetarian and vegan ingredient too!

Responses

  1. You are encouraging me to do the same! Thanks.

    • Awesome! I’m sure you’ll come up with more creative recipes than me. 🙂

  2. I’m thinking of making my own sprouts next semester. I didn’t realize sprouts can be so expensive. Wondering if I can make kabocha seed sprouts? I always hate throwing those seeds away…

    • Hey Sophia. You’ll need to buy special sprout seeds. I got mine online. Let me know if you need more info. 🙂

  3. Your sprouts look great — I’ll have to try this! They’re the perfect addition to a salad or sandwich!

  4. THanks Faith. They’re nuitrient powerhouse!

  5. I really love sprouts and always bite my lip when I buy them at the greengrocer when I know I can make them at home for cheap. I must start growing more things like sprouts and herbs.

    • That’s awesome! Do update me 🙂

  6. What a great idea. I am already trying to grow my own herbs for the first time… growing your own sprouts is a great idea too!

    • Yea! It’s quite fun, especially seeing the tiny beans growing in front of your eyes! 🙂

  7. I’ve tried making my own soy sprouts at home at they are delicious and so easy to make 😀 I still have to try with other beans and seeds though.

    PS: Eating out being a vegetarian (or even worse, a vegan) can be challenging sometimes. I suppose it depends of the country/city/zone too.

    • I empathsize with you. Sometimes it’s difficult to dine out with friends and family as well. Hope you’re having better luck. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

