Posted by: gargupie | April 28, 2010

Nori (Seaweed)

Nori  is the Japanese word for seaweed.  Still not sure what it is? Well, it is the seaweed that is used to wrap around your sushi! Ahhh…that nori. It is basically a product of shredded algae, but in sheet form. 

But do not underestimate this unadorned sea vegetable.  Nori has  a great source of vitamin A, B, C1, iodine, and protein.  Not only can you use it for sushi, but you can use it to make soup or do as I do, I just have it as a light snack! Munch, munch away!

Responses

  1. I love nori!! I actually like to buy a pack and munch on the sheets of ’em. They’re great for you, too.

  2. I concur Samantha! 🙂

  3. i love seaweed! i sometimes eat it out of the bag for a snack!

    • I know. It can be addicting, right?

  4. It’s also the reason I can’t even have a vegetarian version of sushi. The taste is so distinctive, so fishy…
    Not for my taste buds I’m afraid.

    • Yea. Sea vegetables do have a distinct taste. What do you usually order at a Japanese restaurant then? Noodles are always a safe bet (if the broth isn’t meat based). I also like zaru soba as well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

