Posted by: gargupie | April 27, 2010

My Favorite Meal of the Day…

Some people like to have a big dinner to wind down at the end of the day, but as an early riser, I like to have a big breakfast instead. You know the saying, “eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a pauper”, I do believe that, at least according to my lifestyle. Of course, if you have a night shift, everything should be reversed. 🙂

My breakfast of choice is something sweet. Not a savory eater (like eggs and such).  My default is always cereal, a banana, and some nuts. I know a lot of people favor or even highly promote the benefits of oatmeal, though queer me like something with a ‘bite’ and not ‘mushy’ texture in the morning. While there is an array of cereal selections out there, my favorite is still shredded wheat because I could doctor it up however I want. When I was younger, I loved Kix and even the artificially colored Lucky Charms, but as I get older, well, guess my palate changes as well.

I did once have a Japanese style breakfast when I was in Japan – miso soup, rice, fish, and pickles. Definitely something different. I would not have that for breakfast everyday (more like lunch in my mind), but it was an interesting take and it was very healthful.

Responses

  1. great post! i’m also a breakfast person– i’d have dinner for breakfast anytime!

    • Hey. Thanks for stopping by. What ‘dinner’ would you want for breakfast? Would you have Japanese rice and fish for breakfast?

  2. Breakfast is absolutely my favorite meal of the day. I usually have a bowl of steel cut oats — if you like oats to have a little more texture, I recommend trying steel cut. 🙂

    • I do love steel cut oats! Love the nutiness. Just that now that the weather is warming up, I like cold food in the morning. 🙂

  3. I am soooo bad about eating breakfast. And I really don’t know why. I never have a huge appetite in the mornings, so mid-morning I am famished. I try to get into the good habit of eating breakfast but then I usually fall out of it… sigh…

    • I guess that depends on what time you wake up. I think a glass of juice and a piece of fruit would be a good start for you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

