Posted by: gargupie | April 7, 2010

Herbs – Parsley

“If I had a million dollar…I’d buy you a….” (a Billy Joel song)

So if you had a million dollar, what would you buy for yourself or your loved ones?

I wish I could have my very own garden to grow organic vegetables and herbs. I envy chefs who own their own ‘playground’ where they harvest their fruitful bounties.  Sure, you can setup a little herb station on your window sill, but it would be nice to have an entire piece of land dedicated to various edible goodies.

Since the day I shall become a millionaire is far, far away (or nonexistence), I was at IKEA on Easter Sunday (very desolated that day) and spotted this little tub of parsley, waiting to be germinated under my love and care. I would prefer basil or cilantro (my favorite herbs), but only parsley was available, so I took it anyway.  The direction said it would take 10-12 weeks to grow fully, so I have to be patient.  My dish of pasta with parsley might just have to wait till the summer comes.

Responses

  1. My mom has a really gorgeous herb garden that I’m very jealous of. 🙂 I hope your parsley grows well!

    • Oh wow! I’d be jealous too! What kind of herbs does she grow? You should steal some next time you visit. 🙂

  2. Oh!! Good luck! It’s been about 4 weeks for my chives and basil, still have to wait a bit. *sigh

    • Thanks Donny! We’ll keep each other updated. 🙂

  3. Awe, I hope your parsley grows up beautifully! Can’t wait to see what you make with it 🙂

    • Thanks! I’ll give updates as it prosper 🙂

  4. Good luck with your parsley! You’d be surprised how easy it is to grow stuff if you have someplace sunny to put pots. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • Thanks! But so far, no sprouting yet. 😦

  5. I bought the basil and chives at IKEA–they are delicious! Good luck and happy eating!!

    • That’s great! How many weeks did it take for them to grow? Mine is barely sprouting…:(


Leave a Reply

Categories

