Posted by: gargupie | March 31, 2010

Homemade Sushi

Mom had overtime, so I was in the reign to cook dinner.  I did not want to make a pasta dish and since we have not had Japanese food for a long time, I decided to make my own sushi.  Granted I did not have any sushi rice on hand, I used my default jasmine rice instead. It does not provide the ‘sticky’ characteristic like sushi rice, but I thought it was just fine.  So for 2 cups of cooked rice, add in a tablespoon of rice vinegar, a teaspoon of sugar and a dash of salt to season. But remember to cool the cooked rice first before you add in the mixture.  Once the rice is cool enough to handle, use a bamboo mat and start rolling!

In my improvised sushi version, I added avocado, cooked salmon and sliced seedless cucumber. What did the eater say? Thumbs up! Though the rolls were a bit huge. 🙂

Responses

  1. Doesn’t the oversize rolls just add to the awesome factor though? More fillings, less need to grab another piece :).

  2. You’re right. Thanks for pointing out the positive. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

