Posted by: gargupie | September 21, 2009

When you’re under the weather…

Chicken soup…congee…honey tea…

What do you crave when you’re under the weather? Although I try to maintain a vegetarian diet, my body instantly craves salmon whenever I’m sick or feeling lethargic. Perhaps it’s the protein my body is hoping to replenish? Salmon is a ‘mood food’ because the rich omega-3 fatty acids may protect against depression (although I am sad that I’m killing the fish…) Besides salmon, I also like to hydrate myself with lots of green tea. Rest is probably next on the list because I’m the kind of person who just cannot sit still, though there’s no doubt that rest is of utmost important in leading a healthy lifestyle.

Different culture utilizes different foods to boost energy or to cure illnesses. What do you eat or do when you’re under the weather or just not too well?
Leave a Reply

Categories

