Posted by: gargupie | January 9, 2009

Beans

As a semi-vegetarian, I’m so glad I love beans! They are a great meat-substitute and provide protein, vitamins, and other nutrients. Now, like most busy people, I also often resort to canned or frozen beans, but actually, if you’ve a pressure cooker, cooking dried beans is quite easy and the texture and flavor are definitely much better. Don’t worry about having lots of leftover. You can easily freeze cooked beans too! I just found that out. Check out this website for more info – http://www.centralbean.com/cooking.htm

Do you have a favorite bean? I love them all, but I think since I’m a hummus addict, chickpeas are probably my stable, but when I make sweet bean soup (yes! beans can be made into desserts too!), I like to use azuki beans (red beans), mung beans, and black-eyed peas. Though just name any bean, I would still love it. Luckily, my gastro system can take the ahem ahem, gas, so I’ve no need for Beano. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

