Posted by: gargupie | November 10, 2013

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies

Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies

My gosh! What’s this can of pumpkin hiding in the back of my pantry? When did I purchase this??? The expiration date is this month! I gotta use it up! What should I bake it with?

Yes, baking was the first thought that popped into my mind.  Not pumpkin ravioli. Not pumpkin smoothie. And most DEFINITELY not pumpkin soup. Yep. It was either bread or cookies. I decided to reserve the bread option for later (post will come soon) because my mom is travelling to visit relatives and I wanted her to bring something sweet for them.  I thought portioned treats are better for division. While I was ‘rummaging’ the rest of my kitchen, figuring out what else I could add to the cookies (since just plain ‘ole pumpkin is just, well, boring), I found a half bag of chocolate chip in a container, next to random tea bags and jello mix. Please don’t judge). So, why not add that for some sweetness as well? So there you have it, pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. These are chewy, moist, and very wholesome. Aside from the chocolate chips, it’s really quite good for you.  One or two would make a worthy snack to plow through the afternoon or midnight munchies.

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon  ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a medium bowl, blend together the dry ingredients.

3. In another bowl, , whisk together sugar, oil, pumpkin, vanilla and beaten egg.

4. Gradually combine dry ingredients to the wet and stir until just combined, then stir in the chocolate chips. Do not over-mix.

5. Drop the dough by the spoonful. Bake 10-12 minutes or until slightly firm to the touch. Take tray out and cool.

PS My cousin ate the last three of the cookies today.  He texted me from afar. :)

Responses

  1. Nice! :D And something I’d like in an adapted version (probably with gf oat flour or something).

    Can you imagine that you can’t find canned pumpkin puree over here? Really, it’s literally non-existant. You can buy canned pumpkin pieces at well-sorted supermarkets (only there!), but they’re usually canned in a pickles kind-of-way. I see a lot of recipes calling for pumpkin puree on the internet, but if I want to make them, I always have to make it myself.

    When I was a child, the local bakery in my hometown sold pumpkin bread rolls. I remember I liked them very much, they were kind of sweet-tasting and chewy. Now of course I couldn’t eat them anymore (wheat :P ), but when you post your pumpkin bread recipe, you can be sure to elicit some very fond memories here. :)

  2. Btw do you eat these cookies, too? Because they aren’t vegan. I admit I have no idea where you are currently, diet-wise. Hope you feel okay, as you recently had some problems with your diet. Have these issues gotten better?

    • I baked these for my cousins :) I don’t have a sweet tooth, but I really enjoy the process of baking. Still tweaking my diet, but I think the less bread I eat, the better I feel. Although I’m trying to reintroduce brown rice as I do get tired of my current choices of foods. Gets really boring.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

