Posted by: gargupie | October 5, 2013

Fried White Fish. Yes, the little guys.

1380318490834The excitement of the success of my certification exam has passed, now the subsequent anxiety is to finding a job.  It is actually a bit difficult to find a position in the city I live in only because the turnover is low (unlike the restaurant business, where you might see a different server at the same restaurant every few months), would could be interpreted as this job has high satisfying rate, but also the lack of openings.  There are some part time opportunities, but most are in random locations that would either be a 2+ hour commute on public transportation (each way) or the requirement of a car.  In the meantime, I am still searching, keeping my fingers crossed.

In the meantime, I am experimenting in the kitchen, ironically not sweet related, but mostly with savory dishes.  Partly because I have been cooking dinners for my mom since she has been doing overtime work. As her daughter, of course I take on the domestic role of running errands, such as cleaning and cooking.  It is the least I could do.

I realize a package of frozen white fish got hidden in the back of the freezer.  Don’t you just surprised yourself with the things you ‘rediscover’ in your fridge? Frying has never been my cup of tea.  It stinks up the entire place with burning oil and just really messy to clean up.  But I decided to give it a try anyway.  I just justify that I will use an inch of oil instead of an entire pot.  I limited the amount of fish in my pan to a minimum since I did not want to overcrowd the fishes. So I made small batches at a time to compensate for the ‘lack of oil’ I used.  So just be patient.

I mixed a cup of flour with salt and pepper and some garlic powder. Drop the white fish in and coat them, then dust off the excess flour. I heated the oil till bubbling, drop the fish in and fry for about four minutes or until golden brown.  Drain off excess oil on paper towel.  Once plated, sprinkle some sea salt on top for last minute seasoning.  You could eat these little guys as is.  Great bar food, really. :)  Or pair with some rice or as vehicles for dips.

Responses

  1. My dad used to make fish fillets like this: He’s toss them in a mixture of flour and egg yolks and then fry them in a pan. I didn’t know you can do this with small fish too, so you eat the whole thing with bones and scales? 8O

    I’m crossing my fingers that your applications go well! Finding a job is difficult these days I imagine, but it’s good that you are officially well-qualified now. :)

    • Thanks for your well wishes, Kath!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

