Posted by: gargupie | September 14, 2013

I DID IT! I’M CERTIFIED!

congratulationsIt has been an intense month, boosted by my laziness and procrastination-ish personality.  I have been neglecting my blog because of my priorities to 1) enjoy the last of the summery weather; 2) lack of interesting stuff to report about; 3) studying for my certification exam.  For some of you in the know, this was not my ‘first’ try. This is an expensive exam that I had taken, taken, and one more taken in the past year.  The first failure, fine. I could deal with blowing $300 down the drain. It was just a ‘practice test’.  But the second time, I started to doubt myself.  But heck, maybe third time is the charm.  I really thought I had it in the bag for good. I felt good the day I took it.  My mindset was all ready tuned to a triumphing mode, all prepared to add the additional ‘letters’ right behind my last name.  As luck tricked me once again, I left the door with tail down.  Perhaps I was not meant for that profession.  The profession does not want me.  This past year, my job luck is negative zero. I am either unemployed, got hired but the business went down under, or just never got back a second interview.  If my EQ is not high, depression might have been upon me.

I wanted to twist my fate.  Break the curse.  So, I purposely chose to take my exam on Friday the 13th.  If fate wanted to play trick with me, so be it.  I will not be defeated.  You wanted me to lose? Well, let’s play hard ball.  I kept all my routine, did not veer away for a sec.  I still exercised the morning of, still ate the same food, and I was even surprised I slept well.  I also ‘felt right’ when I have been encountering small ‘luck’ the past few days, like finding dimes on the street, meeting friendly strangers, or just getting my way around things that I did not normally experience before.  Sure, these are miniscule events (dimes? Please, tell me when you find a hundred-dollar bill), but I saw these as signs of fortune.  Call me superstitious, but I do believe in these things, especially when you are desperate.  Not many people supported me in my study.  I did not make many friends academically and one of my ‘close relative’ never believed in my work.  However, there are still plenty of supporters who I knew still wanted me to succeed.  The night before, I was fortunate enough to chat with a fellow colleague on Facebook.  She passed her exam just recently (and she graduated a year after me), but she was so supportive and comforting and guided me on test taking tips and provided sound advice.  Just the chat online comforted me.  Gave me a positive outlook.

To fast forward the story a bit, I did not look at the result right away.  With the printed sheet handed faced down to me.  I immediately folded it in half and stuffed it into my backpack.  I was still, too scared and nervous to read the results.  Fourth try. Almost a thousand dollar commitment.  Do I really need a 5th? Do I even WANT a 5th? What would happen if I did not make it? My future is ruined.  Finished.  Finito.  I relieved myself in the restroom, then determinedly unfolded the ‘life contract’.  YAY! This time, the wordings are different! That’s a good sign.

CONGRATULATIONS! The paper read.  I screamed out. Silently.  I almost cried on the street. Almost.  Although I passed just by a few points, still, I won.  I have defeated my demon.  There is finally a closure.  I am now a certified professional.  Something to be proud of.  I shared my joy with my family and friends and they are all happy for me.  I wanted to thank everyone who believed in me.  Who never put me down and is selfless enough to say I should own my success and not just their support.  But really.  The late night colleague chat, the online conversation with my far-away relatives, and my own mother at home, who provided me financially and emotionally, they are my rock.  They ‘egged’ me on because if not, I would not be where I am right now.

I want to use my knowledge and experience purposefully and professionally.  I am actively seeking jobs in my health field. While full-time employment is difficult to come by, but I do see some contract opportunities.  One caveat is the commuting.  Without a car, public transportation is all I have.  But I will stay positive.  I cannot disappoint myself or my loved ones.  I want to do good to the community.  I just need to take baby steps.  I learn a lot daily.

Responses

  1. Congratulations! That’s very exciting and I am happy for you.

    What field did you get certified in? (If you don’t mind my asking)

    • Thanks, Maggie! :) Such a relief!

  2. HOORAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so, so happy for you!!!!!!!!!! *dances* I remember how much it put you down when you failed on that exam, and how the unemployment and job searching were so frustrating for you, and now you did it anyway!!!!! Now I’d love to know what the profession is you’ve qualified for. I have an idea, but I won’t tell here because you seem to want to keep it private. If you like, you can tell me in an email, but you don’t have to. Anyway, happy happy happy for you!!! And great you got so much support from your family and your colleague, that’s so important to have people in life who believe in you! :)

    • Thanks for all your encouragement, Kath! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

