Posted by: gargupie | August 6, 2013

It’s my [birthday] party and I will cry if I want to…

The title to this post is actually lyrics from an oldie song. I am also shocked that I haven’t posted since early July! Shame on me. :*( Well, not that I have been occupied saving the world, but somehow, random events manage to pop up and surprise me.  I had a terrible stomach flu that warranted a doctor’s visit with an IV injection; relative hospitalized; or just taking every opportunity to enjoy the sun while summer is still here.  I was loving it when the sun was burning up the ground, which was two weeks ago. I would take summer over winter in a heartbeat.  And now? It feels more like early autumn than early August and I am not a happy camper.  Where did the summer go???

Well, there WAS a significant event last week. It was my birthday! I won’t reveal my age, haha, but as ‘lucky’ as I am, it was filled with ‘unexpected’ events.  First, I made a restaurant reservation for a celebratory lunch with mom.  Really, on our birthday, we should be thanking our mommies. They are the ones who suffered through intense labor to bring us to this world.  So I chose this really popular New American restaurant for their famous Southern fried chicken.  She thoroughly enjoyed it, but I didn’t. Besides me being a vegan and there was a lack of vegetarian/vegan options on the menu, we sat in a secluded corner and a mosquito apparently hid himself there and I got five enormous bites on my legs.  Instead of me having a delicious meal, I became an insect’s feast. Then, I suspected that these bites caused me allergic reactions because the very next day, my eyes were tearing and nose was running and that never happened before.  Crying on my birthday. Not a positive omen.  Just to add a cherry on top, a mousse that I bought for my birthday melted in the heat.  What was left was a big puddle of chocolate inside a fancy gift box.  Needless to say, I just wanted to cry.  Fortunately, things did turn around for the better. I took some medication and the allergies eventually went away. My mom took me to a local bakery and bought a slice of black forest cake so I could blow a candle and make birthday wishes.  I also tweeted my ‘mousse catastrophy’ to the bakery and the manager responded back and offered me a complimentary pastry! So the nebulous cloud did dissipate, so the moral of the story is never give up hope! :)  Here are just some photos of these events. Nothing I created, but I sure ‘worked’ for them. :)

Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear there was so much upheaval in the past weeks and your birthday took such an unhappy start! Glad that things turned out well in the end and you’ve recovered from flu and allergy reactions! Happy belated birthday! :)

    • Thanks for your comforting words, Kath. :)

  2. Hey there! It’s Emily from the old EZ’s Recipe days… don’t feel bad for not posting in a couple of months, I have not posted in pretty much 2 years. Life has changed a lot but I am getting back into the blogging world again with a new blog name and am finding my old blogger friends. It’s good to be back! Hope you’ve recovered from that stomach flu, that sounds awful! And happy birthday. :)

    • Thanks, Emily! Hope your two years hiatus did you good. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

