Posted by: gargupie | July 6, 2013

Mussels in White Wine Sauce

musselsMy mom and I share dinner together every night.  Studies have shown that sharing family dinner is a healthy routine to follow.  Since we are not talking about TV dinner here, eating homemade dishes at the same table is the best opportunity for reconnection after a long day of running about with school, work, or chores.  Dinner is really the only time mom and I got to relax (a bit) and chat about our day.  Usually, she might rant about her work hardship and I just listen attentively as lending my ears is my job at that moment.  Other times, I might have some dilemma and she might give out some sound advice.  If not, at least there is someone for me to express my feelings and concerns with.  So, family dinner is more than filling our stomachs with foods, but a chance for us to promote mutual support and care.

We usually make vegetarian dishes (since I am vegan), but I like to whip up something special for my mom from time to time.  The other day, PEI mussels were on sales, so I thought, why not make her some mussels cooked in a white wine sauce? Just like dining in a French restaurant san the ambience. Oo0 la la. :)

I sort of improvised the recipe a bit, but the basic ingredients are all there – butter, diced onions, white wine, mussels and I also added basil for an aromatic flavor.  Mussels are actually very user-friendly. You just melt the butter and brown the onions in a pan, then add in the mussels, pour in the white wine and put the lid on. It should take about 10 minutes for the mussels to open up and when they are (discard the closed ones though. They are the reject), I chiffonade the basil leaves and sprinkle on top. Don’t forget to serve this with a side of toasted crusty bread to dip the savory broth.  Nothing goes to waste with this dish.

Responses

  1. I love that you have these dinner rituals with your mom! It’s just a wonderful occasion to catch up and thus nourish both your body and soul. :)

    • Oh, most definitely. Thanks, Kath.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

