Posted by: gargupie | March 17, 2012

Happy St. Paddy’s Day

No, I won’t be celebrating this popular Irish day with a pint of Guinness or corned beef with cabbage (though I did have some cabbage for lunch today, just to get into the spirit of the moment :P) I even tried to avoid the rowdy parade crowd near Times Square, but there were still leftovers from the celebratory event even in the late afternoon. Mostly young attendees finding this opportunity to hold a goblets with friends and gals. All the pubs were spilling over at the front doors, greens consumed the streets, clovers were the mandatory botanical symbols. In all, it was a very ‘green’ day. :)

I do not usually share my personal life on my blog (as some of my regular readers might be able to tell). Nothing about my mom and dad, siblings, cousins, significant others…which might make my posts a bit impersonal (???) But last night, my mom invited my dad to dinner, but he was running late due to work. So instead of going out for a late meal, I cancelled the reservation at a Greek restaurant and bought sushi to eat at home instead. Sometimes it is more comfortable to dine at home, especially with take-out. You do not have to worry about getting home late, no strangers around you, and well, you are right at home, so no travelling time after eating. I bought some authentic sushi for my parents as their dinner and also gathered a large bowl of salad for myself. I dressed it with carrot ginger honey dressing. It tasted very healthy, but also flavorful because I only used natural ingredients, so no frustose or other artificial flavorings. It came out a bit chunky, so next time, I will definitely incorporate more olive oil to smooth out the texture.

Carrot Ginger Honey Dressing

A cup of shredded carrots
1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup of cold water
1 tablespoon of honey
1 teaspoon of ponzu sauce
one big piece of ginger, grated

Throw all the ingredients into a blender until smooth. Dress the greens and toss and mix well.

My parents enjoyed their sushi, while I grazed on my green salad, in observance of St. Paddy’s Day :)

Responses

  1. We don’t have St Patrick’s Day over here. And I’m not sure if I’d be fond of corned beef … Your carrot dressing looks great though! :D

    • Thanks, Kath! I need to work with the smoothness of the dressing thouhg.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

