Posted by: gargupie | June 9, 2011

Yellow Chives and Tofu Casserole

I have not posted lately due to health issues and other external influences.  Although I still spend a portion of my day reading other blogs and reviews, guess my meals just are not interesting enough to warrant a post.  Do not want to bore my readers. ;P

So, my mom have been OTing (overtime at work) this entire week, so I take the reign to prepare her dinner.  Mine is always a simple vegetable dish, though I like to be more creative with hers.  Last night, as I rummaged through the fridge, I realized a lot of produces had gone bad! Don’t you just hate that? A waste of money! So, with a block of tofu about to expire and some yellow chives and eggs on hand, I decided to make a tofu dish for mom.

It is nothing very complicated.  I cooked the tofu with some olive oil over medium heat, then beat up an egg and mix in some chopped yellow chives.  I pour the mixture over the tofu in a pot. Turn down the heat, so the tofu would not get burnt.  Put a cover on for a minute or at least you feel the egg is done, yet not overcooked.  I topped the dish with some sesame sauce and a sprinkle of white sesame as garnish and to enhance the nutty flavor.  Along with another plate of greens to balance out her diet and a bowl of rice, my mom happily gobbled down the meal with gusto.  I looked on, feeling pride of my hard work. 

And for today? I am taking a break. Got my mom some sushi to go. :P

Responses

  1. I love that you cook for each of you what she likes best. I’m the same with my mom and dad when I visit my parents, I often will make different things for the three of us (or just two, whoever is there for eating), dependent on our peculiar preferences.

    Th tofu looks nice! I’m still not friends with tofu, but I think I’ll it again soon. :)

  2. I’ll tryyyyyyyyyyyyy it ;)

  3. Also, the yellow chives are very pretty! I suppose that’s something specifically Asian because I’ve never seen anything like that over here. Of course I’m intrigued now, because I love veggies and everything oniony, but I think I’d have to go with leek cut into thin stripes. ;)

    • Thanks Kath! Yea, it’s more of an Asian vegetable. They’re akin to scallion, so hope you like scallion. :P

  4. Nice post! Thanks for your recent comment…I’m glad that you enjoy making fun of my name. I’ve *never* heard that before…wink, wink! ;)

    • You deserve all the credits for your yummy goods. :)

  5. Hope you are feeling better.

    • Thanks for your kind thoughts. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

