Posted by: gargupie | April 17, 2011

Soaked Old-Fashioned Oatmeal with Maple Syrup and Walnuts

High cholesterol does not just affect old ages, but it has been including younger adults (or even children), perhaps unfortunately due to genetics, but most often due to excessive fats and calories in diet or the lack of exercise.  My mom falls into the latter group.  While some members of my family is ‘blessed’ with low cholesterol despite eating out a lot, my mom, who also eats light like me, is ‘domed’ to high level no matter what. She does not want to rely on medication all the time, so the most effective way to control, if not reduce, the number is through what she eats. 

 Oatmeal has been lauded to reduce LDL, the ‘bad’ cholesterol because  the oat fibers bind to the cholesterol molecules and carry it out of the body through excretion (you know, the dirty job, hehe).  Be aware though. Although oatmeal is healthy, what you put in it to make it flavorful could negate its health factor, such as added butter, whole milk, granola, or excessive nuts and dried fruits. Just everything in moderation.  That is the key to good living.

Here, I created for my mom my ‘soaked’ oatmeal. I find that you do not always need to cook the grain.  If you soak it overnight, it is soft and digestible enough to consume.  I used part reduced fat milk and water, a bit of maple syrup for a tad of sweetness, some chopped walnuts for protein and blueberries for color and vitamins.  Paired with a cup of tea with lemon and a slice of toast, you just got yourself a complete breakfast.

Now just waiting for my mom to wake up.

Good morning Sunday~

Responses

  1. Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

    • Thanks for stopping by. I agree. I love to look at pictures, too. :)

  2. During the past year, I read a lot about nutrition, and I was surprised to find that there’s apparently no connection between the consumption of saturated fat and cholesterol. (To the contrary, saturated fat is even good for you!) More precisely, the was *one* study by Ancel Keys that found a connection, and that one was badly controlled. An assortment of newer studies, to the contrary, did not support the cholesterol hypothesis. An overview can be found here:

    http://www.westonaprice.org/abcs-of-nutrition/265-myths-a-truths-about-nutrition

    Moreover, what *is* directly related to blood lipid levels is sugar consumption! I’ve even made a post about that a while ago:

    http://myfunnylittlelife.com/2010/09/06/the-bitter-consequences-of-sweet-eating/

    So, I’d rather put butter on my oats than sugar. I’m sure the oats are good, though. ;)

  3. Sorry, I hope I haven’t offended you! :( I just wanted to say that I believe that sugar is the bigger problem and fat is healthier than commonly believed.

    Happy Easter to you! :)

    • No worries Kate! :)
      I still believe that oatmeal can help to lower cholesterol, as evidenced by my mom’s co-worker’s health. Her LDL # significantly lowered after her daily oatmeal ritual.

      Your comments are very thoughtful and I appreciate you taking time to visit my site. :)

      Happy Easter to you, too! :)

      • :D

        I’m happy the oatmeal helps you mom! And I really enjoy visiting your blog! :)

  4. I am glad to see that there’s someone out there who gets excited over Earth Day like I do… and I am glad that there are people who have the same passion for what’s good for the environment! There need to be more like us! :) This oatmeal looks delicious. It would be good for my dad. Good news, his cholesterol levels are super low after his heart surgery!

    Happy Easter back at ya!

    • Woohoo! That’s great news! So happy for you and your family! Your dad is a fighter! Grrrr :)

  5. Oatmeal is my favorite breakfast and your soaked oats look great! It was so sweet of you to make this for your mom!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

