Posted by: gargupie | April 15, 2010

Steamed Tofu

Sometimes when you are just too tired to cook an elaborated dinner and the thought of getting take-out (which I never do) just is not attractive (to the wallet, the wait time, or nutrition-wise), my default is usually a plate of greens (Chinese broccoli is my favorite) and perhaps a dish of steamed silken tofu. 

Tofu is usually sold in a boxed carton in any Asian supermarkets or most American supermarkets nowadays.  Just be sure to get the silken kind and not the firm one, since the latter is mainly in a stir fry dish. I just slide the block of tofu onto a plate, drizzle some olive oil, scatter some diced scallions and cilantro, and steam it along with my rice in the rice-cooker.  A “one pot meal” you can say. Then, to finish it off, I like to dress it with a splash of soy sauce or teriyaki sauce.

Dinner is served.

Responses

  1. Tofu is a staple in my house — it’s such a versatile ingredient. My favorite way to eat it is baked.

    • Would love to see some of your tofu eats on your blog. :)

  2. Love your blog! I usually put dice some tofu into my miso soup, but am trying to expand out to other dishes.

    • Thanks! Tofu is so versatile because it works with a variety of marinate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

